Slimming World – Top 5 Slow Cooker Meals

Slimming World..

Now, like other thousands of people in the UK and Ireland I follow Slimming World. I first started in 2012, I lost a stone & got to a weight where I was really happy, but still wasn’t satisfied. Then I started working as a pastry chef, ate cake all day long and put all the weight I lost back on.

Looking back I would do anything to get back to my lowest weight, I had so much body confidence that I never even realised until I look back now.

So my new Slimming World journey started last week and I lost 3.5lb in my first week. OVER THE MOON!

Slow cookers..

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 18.41.27

Now onto the topic of this post. If you do not have a slow cooker, you may possibly want to invest in one by the end of this…

I love my slow cooker – there is nothing like walking in the house after a day out at work and coming home to the aroma of your tea that has been bubbling all day long!

I have scoured through my Instagram for my favourite slow cooker meals and will share my favourite in descending order, here goes..

In at number 5:

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 18.34.43
Slow Cooker Curry

yes, number 5 is a good old curry. Now i’m not a massive curry fan but once in a while I don’t mind one. In this picture is a Jalfrezi being prepared – lots of superfree (Slimming World jargon), chicken, tin tomatoes, jalfrezi spice mix and bobs your uncle a syn free curry to enjoy with rice!

 

Number 4:

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 18.34.31
Slow Cooker Soup

Number 4 is slow cooker soup! Soup’s are fantastic on Slimming World as most of the time you can make them syn free and also soup is well known for its filling power in the stomach! The soup pictured above is one of my favourite, Leek and Potato. Slow Cooker soup could not be easier to make – bung vegetables in, add stock & water, let it bubble away until the vegetables are soft and you have yourself some homemade warming soup. Perfect for these cold winter months!

(and the summer ones with the good old British summertime)

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 19.03.07
Leek and Potato soup blended after cooking

 

Number 3:

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 18.21.55
Slow Cooker Beef Casserole

Number 3 in my mini countdown is slow cooker beef casserole. My mouth is starting to water writing this and looking at that image.

With a slow cooker, you cannot beat a slow cooked beef stew/casserole. But the key is to cook it for a good 8 hours- that way the meat is soft and tender, I also love putting button mushrooms in my casserole- I love their consistency.

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 18.15.46
More Slow Cooker Beef Casserole

 

M-O-U-T-H-W-A-T-E-R-I-N-G

The meat I use most for my casserole’s is diced lean beef. I don’t like fat on my meat so I always opt for a lean option. In the ‘sauce’ part I usually use beef OXO, red wine, tomato puree, seasoning and my favourite – Worcestershire Sauce.

 

Number 2:

Nearly at number 1!…But first a commendable runner up..

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 18.17.15
Slow Cooker Chilli

yes, number 2 is slow cooker chilli. I LOVE chilli in the slow cooker. One of my sisters always says it’s ‘watery’ but I love chilli with a bit of juice to it, I hate dry chilli (she clearly does not appreciate good chilli !)

To make my chilli, I use lean mince beef, brown it off in a sauce pan. (I have found by trial and error chilli works best if the beef is browned first). After the meat I cook off diced onion, then add my spice mix, tin tomatoes, kidney beans in chiili sauce (LOVE kidney beans) then add some diced peppers- transfer it all into my slow cooker and leave it while I am out for the day.

Some times I make it into a mixed bean chilli, I add kidney beans, butter beans, cannelloni beans and black eyed beans. I love the texture of beans and it adds plenty of protein to the dish!

I have even prepped a slow cooker chilli before going out to the pub, I ALWAYS get drinking munchies so when I have had a few tipples I don’t get tempted to pick up a takeaway on the way home – instead I come home to a syn free chilli ready and waiting!

And so that brings us to my number 1 favourite slow cooker meal..

 

Number 1:

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 18.16.32
Slow Cooker Pulled Brisket

Can we just take a moment to appreciate the less popular cuts of meat?

Brisket is one of my favourite meats. Ever.

I know pulled pork is very trendy these days, and I am dreading the moment when everyone starts having my precious pulled brisket everywhere and the price of the joint sky rockets!!!

It is utter perfection, brisket needs plenty of time to cook. If it is not given a good amount of time (10hours +) then it won’t willingly pull and it won’t be soft and tender, it will be very chewy. Not good.

I simply cook my joint of brisket straight into the slow cooker- no browning. I add beef OXO cubes and a dash of red wine vinegar and my favourite condiment Worcester sauce. And that is it. Leave it to cook for as long as possible, and when it starts falling apart with the touch of a fork I then remove it from the slow cooker and leave to rest while I thicken up and adjust the seasoning of the sauce.

I enjoy pulling pieces of beef of the brisket and dunking it into the sauce. Simplicity at its best.

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 18.14.12
Slow Cooker Brisket with mash & veg

 

So there you have my Top 5 Slow Cooker Meals

Do you enjoy any of these or have any recommendations for new meals?

Feel free to leave your comments below 🙂

Laura, x

 

Leave a Reply

